Hey Ho Hey

So… I finally talked to a psychiatrist today. Big step forward? HELL YES.

It was awkward. Really. Really. Awkward.

I can’t really say much about it, really. It went the same way it usually does when I talk to a figure of authority. Awkward silences. Awkward voice. Awkward gestures.

But it was good, really.

He confirmed me having depression and anxiety. Explained a lot of things.

He prescribed me some medication; an anti-depressant and one that aids sleep.

Also, he scheduled another meeting, for therapy.

Β 

Today is a good day.

Β 

Β 

Aug12’14

9 thoughts on “Hey Ho Hey

  1. Well done for making this first huge step. It’s bound to feel awkward at first, you’re being asked to say out loud things you’ve kept very private. I hope it gets easier for you.

  2. You can be so, so proud of yourself. I am sorry that I didn’t comment on your last postings (there’s a lot going on here right now), but I remember that you said “It’s not much” – but it is.

    I particularly liked that you said “I’m gonna take care of myself”.

    THAT made me want to cheer you so hard. It IS a lot. You could have backed out, you could have decided not to go. It will get better from now on. It will take time and there will be a couple of ups and downs, just like with every other recovery.

    But you made a brilliant, brilliant start, and I am sure the medication will help you with that. If you can sleep, that means a lot, because it will help the body so much to deal wit the physical stress.

    By the way – have you tried lavender oil against anxiety attacks? It is generally considered soothing (if you are not allergic, that is).

    This is so, so cool. Be proud of yourself.

    Lots and lots of love! I am really, really happy for you right now. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so so much. πŸ™‚ You actually helped me a lot in taking this step as you’re one of the people who constantly talked me through it. It really means a lot to me.
      It’s okay, really, you don’t have to leave a comment if you’re not feeling it/have something else going on. How are things with you now, anyway? Are you all right?

      I haven’t tried lavender oil yet. But I’ll give it a try, thank you for mentioning it! πŸ™‚

      Again, thank you so much!!

      Take care. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

