Emergency Comfort Pack (Comfort Box)

I recently learned of a comfort box (or grounding box), which could help people ย with their anxiety. It’s a stress reliever of sorts.

All you have to do is put together things that calm you, relieve your stress, make you comfortable, or that make you happy; in a box (or a bag). You could put in books, CDs, encouraging notes, toys, and even food!

I’m planning on making one for myself; because I think gathering the things I’d put in there would be fun; and I really think this would help me. I’ll most likely put them in a bag though, so it’d be easier for me to keep it around without my family thinking about it too much.

The things I plan on putting in the pack are the following:

1. A stressball

2. small journal/doodle notebook.

3. Pen, pencil, and colored pencils.

4. Marker/s. (I heard about marking up your skin as an alternative to SH)

5. White Flower (that oil which has a minty scent)/one of those menthol inhalers

6. Pictures of my loved ones. (because sometimes I still have to remind myself that there are people who care for me)

7. A book. (Perks of Being A Wallflower)

8. A print of the poems I made in book form (so others who’d see it won’t think I actually wrote them. heh)

9. a scarf and a bonnet (and maybe socks? I know I’d look silly but I think I’d be past the point of caring by that point)

10. ear plugs

11. list of activities/projects I could do

12. Maybe a small stuffed toy I could talk to (it’s not at all weird, I think)

13. Words of encouragement

I guess that’s it for now. I’m actually excited to start on this later on in the morning!

Oh well, wish me luck.

-KP

Jun17’14

5 thoughts on “Emergency Comfort Pack (Comfort Box)

  1. Great idea — I’m trying to think what I would put in mine! I think some lavender oil (maybe on a hankie), some lip gloss (always comforting for some reason), favorite book (would have to pick one), notebook and pen, eye pillow…

  2. I just recently heard of this too KP! I’m thinking of putting one together and thinking about what’s going to go in it. Might even have to go get some wood and build the box and decorate it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Great post!!! Happy to see you’re putting this together! Let us know what you think if/when you have to use it.

    ~Pax~

  3. Reblogged this on Paddling for PEACE. and commented:
    This is such a good idea – and it’s the second time I’ve heard of doing such a thing in the last month… thinking of what to put in my tool box….

Leave a Reply

