I don’t but I do

I don’t want you to break the walls I’ve built around me. That’s what everyone has been trying to do and so far no one has succeeded. I don’t want you to be one of them.

I do want you not to break my walls, but to jump over them and see for yourself what’s on the other side of these walls. Spend a day or two inside here with me, but be prepared; you might never want to leave.

 

I don’t want you to tell me I’m beautiful. Everybody says so but I don’t believe them. Not,  when we have different takes on what beauty really is. (Say, what is your take on beauty?)

I do want you to tell me what I really am to you, in a beautiful way. I want you to be honest. Because honesty is rare, sacred, and therefore beautiful.

 

I don’t want you to be different by trying to be someone you’re not. Everybody is trying to be different, making them all the same.

I do want you to be different by being who you are. You’re one of a kind; And so am I. Together let’s be different. Together let’s be the same.

 

I don’t want you to change for me. Some people do so and change they do: they’re changed into people of sadness and emptiness, because along the way they lose a part of themselves.

I do want you to change for yourself, if you really must. Change not for anyone, but for yourself. Change if you think it’s going to make you better. That way you retain a part of yourself along the way.

 

I don’t want you to be happy for me. People are always happy for other people, often forgetting their own happiness, ending up heartbroken.

I do want you to prioritize your own happiness, I’ll take care of my own. That way we can be happy together.

 

I don’t want you to own me. I’m not a possession and so are you. I’m not yours and you’re not mine. Love doesn’t equate to possession.

I don’t want you to own me, but I do want you to love me.  And I’ll love you in return.

 

 

-CL

May30’14

 

 

Leave a Reply

