writing about writing

Writing is not a job for lazy people. That much I know now.

Your story isn’t going to write itself, no matter how much you plead it to go out of your mind and materialize by itself.

It doesn’t matter how good, interesting, heart-wrenching, or inspiring your story is, when it’s stuck up in your head.

Why?

No matter how in control you are of your precious brain, it would still play a game against you; hiding your treasure of ideas in the depths of its folds, making you forget about them.

That’s the ugly art of forgetting.

Writing is not a job for lazy people. That much I know now. It’s either I write my ideas down now or I forget about them. Forever.

Or, it could be the opposite.

Sometimes your ideas get a life of their own, and they bug you, scream in your ear, so loud that you can’t seem to do anything other than think about your ideas, scenes, stories, everything. They won’t stop; not until you start writing.

That’s the art of frustration.

writing is not a job for lazy people. That much I know now. It’s either I write my ideas down or they haunt me forever in my mind.

 

Right now, the reason I’m writing about writing is due to two things:

I just forgot about a scene that could have been good for my story;

and that, I can’t get the concept of writing out of my mind right now.

 

My brain likes to play games sometimes.

 

May23’14

Leave a Reply

