What kind of a friend are you?

I think one of the perks of having a friend is having someone to talk to, especially if that friend has your full trust.

You can have someone whom you can share your secrets to, even your dark ones.

You can have someone to seek whenever your problems get the best of you.

 

That’s the thing with friendship. You care for each other. You look out for each other.

Your friend loves you that much to not let anyone hurt you.

In turn, you love your friend as much to not let anyone hurt them…

Even if that includes you.

 

See, that’s the problem with having a friend. You’re torn with the idea of baring your soul to them, to let them know all of you including your problems; against the thought of being a burden to them.

You’re torn between the idea of sharing and the idea of not sharing at all to spare them of carrying a heavy load aside from their own.

You’re afraid to be dishonest (by omission, I guess), but you’re also afraid to be a burden.

I wouldn’t know what to choose, to be honest. I don’t have that kind of friend I can depend on.

Or maybe I’m just choosing not to be a burden.

6 thoughts on “What kind of a friend are you?

  1. I understand feeling like a burden. I feel like that with my friends often. But I really think you should talk to someone. I know I have no right to tell you what to do, so you have no obligation to listen to me. You just seem like someone who not only needs to talk to someone, but someone who really wants to talk to someone. It is absolutely okay if you can’t. Bringing yourself to talk to someone, a professional or even just a friend or family member, is so unbelievably difficult, so please never beat yourself up for not being able to. I just wanted you to know that there is always someone to talk to, someone will listen. I would, I am. I know I may be crossing a line, but again I really just want you to have someone you feel like you can talk to. I really want to help you, I don’t know how to proceed with that, maybe I could give you my email?

    Or if that’s too much or if you don’t want to, I will just continue to comment on some of your posts. I just want you to know that someone is listening and it is not a burden to do so.

    • Sorry for replying late. I… don’t know what to say, really. You’re being such a good person. I don’t know how to respond to these kind words.
      I appreciate you trying to help me, and I thank you greatly for it. At least now I know someone would really listen, even if we don’t know each other personally (which has its pros and cons). Thank you, really, for this.

      • Thank you! I was actually hesitant to ask for it, I mean, you know. I’m still quite ambivalent about opening up (it’s definitely my fault, not yours, by the way). But I might just take you up on your offer. Again, thank you for this! 🙂

  2. The rarest of people, is the real friend who you can talk about anything with, who does not feel burdened with your words because they understand that they do not need to take on board your feelings to be of assistance. The key to finding that person is to be vulnerable and honest in your words and let them respond with love and care.
    I am very fortunate to have such a friend, they are out there. Feel free to email me directly (see my about page) if you want to talk without feeling a burden. I will listen and I care.

Leave a Reply

