This Should Be a Song, Not a Poem

I wanted to write a song for you

But I guess for now this would do

A poem written with you in mind

because you, you’re one of a kind

 

I would have described you in my song

but I know it would make it so long

a three minute tribute to your eyes

then another six minutes about your different smiles

 

Still, I couldn’t make a song for now

Still haven’t found that melody somehow

a perfect tune for a perfect lass

a sweet and happy sound, with a bit of sass

 

So until I find that perfect beat of the drum

Until I find the right tune, words, and rhythm

I’ll sing to you in the form of a poem

made with love and words that rhyme

 

-CL

May23’14

[for no one in particular. I’m just being a sap, that’s all. Just you wait, my future lover. I’d drown you with my words and songs, even when they don’t rhyme, sometimes; and not that great.]

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “This Should Be a Song, Not a Poem

Leave a Reply

